Dear friend who betrayed my trust

Thank you. Because of what you put me through I am still able to live without fear. How? Jesus. When you betrayed me, I realized something. You are a person, you are not perfect and I was bound to get hurt when I allowed myself to be vulnerable. Did you hurt me? Yes. Will I survive? Absolutely. Maybe you don’t want to be my friend, maybe you never really loved me as I thought you did. Even as you said you did, maybe to tell me what you thought I wanted to hear. But, Jesus does truly love me. His love is not conditional or shallow. No matter how many mistakes I make he still loves me, believes in me, leads me, and guides me. Lastly, thank you for giving up on our friendship, because I learned there is someone who will never give up on me. He actually died in my place,  and all I had to do was accept his sacrifice and love. He died for my sins, for the very mistakes in which you chose to betray me. In the Bible it says this,“Fear of man will prove to be a snare, but whoever trusts in the Lord is kept safe.”

‭‭Proverbs‬ ‭29:25‬ ‭NIV‬‬

I was afraid of losing your friendship so I pretended to be like you, but I’m not. I fear the Lord because I love him, I honor and respect Him. But after you disowned me and told me one thing but to others denied me. I now just feel hurt. But instead of hardening my heart towards all people I feel a deep compassion. And although my heart hurts, I know that only He can heal this old wound that you reopened. Maybe I had to go through this to feel the betrayal that Jesus felt by Judas. So thank you, I have learned so much from our friendship. The one that you deny. You know the truth, and so do I. I forgive you. I’m at peace, but only because I know I’m loved and cherished. I don’t have to do anything to get God’s attention, he simply loves me and once forgiven, he does not hold my sins against me. That’s all I need. I wish you well in this life. I will continue to pray for you because I do still care about you, I’m just able to let go and hope one day you and I can be friends again. If not, that is ok too because without you I would never have grown this much. It was your rejection that showed me Jesus is all I need, and I can love people even if they cause me pain. I think the enemy tried to use this pain to turn me away from people but I choose to see the good in this. God knew our friendship and end of it would start transforming me into the Christ follower and lover of people I am called to be. So thank you and Goodbye, my friend. My  hope is that you do not judge Jesus by my behavior, even though I follow Him, I make bad choices from time to time. I’m not perfect, I follow the only perfect human who ever lived on this earth. I pray you accept His love one day, even if you rejected mine. Peace to you.

This entry was posted in Betrayal, Friendship, Lies hurt, Redemption, Sad, True love. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

